Why I Stopped Buying Deodorant

Be honest, you read the title and thought “She has gone off the deep end…”. Your only reading because your curious to see just how crazy I am! Yes, I do have dreams of being a hippy and living a simpler life with none of the modern-day concerns we have. Don’t worry this deodorant issue isn’t a reaction of my hippy ways though! I live in the same world you all live in and I don’t care for smelly people anymore then you do. Believe me, I’ve met my share of “maybe if I don’t shave or wear deodorant I will be a hippie” and I have no intention of giving up either of those things!

I am on a quest to simplify my household and personal items. I try to avoid chemical exposure as much as possible and one of the ways we are exposed to that on a daily basis is in our personal care items and cleaning products. I have tried all the natural deodorants without aluminum and I’ve tried the more natural {but still have all the junk in them} brands too. None of them work! I want to avoid chemicals but I have to wear deodorant that works! I was skeptical that anything I could make would do the trick. So, I procrastinated trying it! This week I took the plunge and made this deodorant from my friend Heather’s blog {aka the mommypotamus} and I am sold! I have never used a deodorant that works as well as this one and it is SO easy to make! My only regret is that I didn’t try it sooner! All it takes is  coconut oil, aluminum free baking soda and organic (GMO free) cornstarch. 

:: Combine Equal parts aluminum free baking soda and GMO-free cornstarch

:: Add coconut oil until moist and then store in a jar

You only need to use a small amount and I just apply it with my fingers. So your curious now hu? Give it a try! I promise you will be sold! What’s your favorite non-chemical or homemade household/personal care items?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Why I Stopped Buying Deodorant

  1. Jenni hulet says:

    This is great. I haven’t worn “deodorant” in 12 years but I have never made this recipe so I am excited to try it! Thanks.

  2. Mommypotamus says:

    I always feel like a salesman when I mention this recipe, but as you know it really does work! If you’re wearing a dark shirt make sure to let it dry fully before dressing or it can leave whitish stains 🙂

  3. Beth Dreyer says:

    How do you apply it? I want to try!

  4. Annie says:

    I cleaned out an old deodorant container (secret brand) and re-filled it with the homemade stuff! So, it applies just like traditional deo! Only thing is, don’t let it get too hot, or it will melt out of the container. (I’m not saying this from the experience gained after leaving it in my hot car or anything). So glad you posted this, it needs to be said that there are frugal ways to cut out chemicals rather than shelling out lots of $$ for the so-called natural store-bought brands.

  5. Deirdre says:

    I procrastinated making my own deodorant, too, but you are right, this is the best ever! I’ve been using this for about 6 months and will never go back. Thanks to Mommypotamus for posting the recipe!

  6. Susan says:

    Does this work as an antiperspirant, too??

    • Hannah says:

      I don’t thing it would be an anti-perspirant because it doesn’t have chemical additives. It would just help to not smell if you do sweat!

  7. Jolee Burger says:

    Hannah, I tried this about 6 months ago after reading it on Heather’s blog. I was very skeptical of course – who wouldn’t be? I LOVE this recipe now, though, and it totally does work. I hate wearing deodorant for so many reasons, but this works and is natural. I like to put a drop of 2 of lavender essential oil when I am applying it, and it works as a perfume too.
    My only criticism is that it gets a bit chunky sometimes when I am trying to rub it in… but maybe I am applying too much – I just want to make sure I get full coverage!

  8. Emily Kavalich says:

    The title of this post totally cracked me up you hippie 😉 I have to say I am intrigued.

  9. Pingback: No-Poo: An Update » Beth Dreyer Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

