My No-Poo Journey

In a conversation that my husband and I were having I made a comment about not being crazy and his response was “you are crazy…you don’t wash your hair or wear deodorant.” Neither of those are true, just some of the way true! I have given up shampoo though. Here are a couple of reasons why I’ve decided to ditch the poo.

:: I work hard to eliminate chemicals from anything we use in our house and normal shampoo is full of them

:: Yes, there are lots of natural shampoos that have cleaner ingredients but who wants to spend big bucks on something that isn’t a must like that

::While shampoo is good it is a cleaner and will strip your hair of the good and the bad. Stripping your hair that often can leave it dry and /or in a unnatural state.

Before you decide to never come in contact with me or my hair again, I am cleaning it just in a non-conventional way. I did some online research and several big hair people are talking about the benefits of no-pooing. I followed this blog for general instructions and adapted it to work for me. I have a TON of hair and it is thick and a little wavy so I was skeptical that this would work for me. I only wash my hair every 2-3 days anyway because washing it daily dries it out and is just frankly too much work!

Here is what the process look likes for me so far, I “wash” it with a couple of tablespoons of baking soda mixed with about a cup of water. I’m not exact with my measurements just enough to mix well. I put those together in a squirt bottle and soak my scalp then massage the rest of my hair into it. I rinse it like normal. To condition it I use Apple Cidar Vinager. Again I dilute it in a squirt bottle and soak my scalp, massage, leave in a few minutes then rinse. My hair does smell like ACV but it goes away once it dries.

In the next couple weeks I hope to try some deep conditioning treatments and a sugar scrub for my scalp. I’ll keep you posted on those!

Have you ever tried going “no-poo”? What was your experience?

This entry was posted in health, no-poo, Personal Care. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My No-Poo Journey

  1. Annie says:

    Hey Girl! I want to give this a try, but the link isn’t working to the blog where you got the general instructions. Could you post that for me? Thanks!!

  2. April says:

    All of this is very interesting. How long does it take you to spray your hair twice like that? Isn’t that a lot of time and work? Also, I am just curious about the effect of baking soda on your hair. I used to add baking soda to my shampoo every couple of weeks to strip my hair of chemical build up. It seems too harsh and drying to use for every shampoo. Has your hair felt dry? I don’t think of Apple Cider Vinegar as being particularly moisturizing, how does that work? Have you ever tried some kind of actual oil in your hair to moisturize it? Can’t wait to see how all this works out for you. Exciting experiment!

    • Hannah says:

      I’m not really particular about it so I just soak my scalp with the baking soda mixture then massage it through my hair. The baking soda has driedmy hair out some, that is probably my biggest complaint right now. I’ve only been using it every 3 days but may try and go even longer between uses. Today I used coconut oil like a leave in conditioner because I needed something more, I’m hoping this helps! It’s a work in progress for sure!!

      • Carole says:

        Hi Hannah. I’ve been doing the baking soda/vinegar thing for a year now. I have super thin hair, so … different scenario, but … as far as the dryness I would try using less baking soda and spacing it out a little. I read about mixing the apple cider vinegar in a cup of water and then soaking the ends of your hair in the cup. I try to do that and it seems to really make my hair smooth again after the squeaky clean/dry feeling from the baking soda.
        (fwiw!)

        🙂

Leave a Reply

