Why We’ve Chosen To Be Weird

We live in a apartment. There you have it. It’s out there now. We have 2 young children and we live in a second story apartment. Not because my husband doesn’t make enough to buy a house or because we can’t qualify for a mortgage. When Jeremy and I got married we decided to rent for our first 3-5 years of marriage and be in a good financial postion before we bought a house. When we got married Jeremy owned a house that was meant to be used as an investment property and ended up just being a financial burden mostly. We didn’t want to do that again. Next house we owned we wanted to be prepared for in the best way we could. In comes our friend Dave Ramsey, you may have heard of him. He is kind of well known in the finacial world. We took a Financial Peace Course and knew right away this was the way we wanted to manage our money. I got a cute red “Ramsey” wallet and often get comments about my cash system in public. We decided to make some weird decisions and started living on a strict budget and saving everything else. We started our way through the Ramsey baby steps and have since taken the class several times. We’ve paid off some debt we accumulated from the previous house I mentioned and have been able to save for our “one day” house. That “one day” seems to be approaching fast! We are house hunting! It seems sureal to me. We are looking at houses and one will be ours! We are being “weird” in our house hunting too. We have chosen to take out a 15 year mortgage and put down as much as possible on the house. So we aren’t looking at anything fancy. Most likely it will need some updates…did I mention my husband has a background in construction? There isn’t anything the man can’t do! We are giddy excited for this new adventure.

Along the way I’ve struggled with what others may think of us. I’ve gotten those looks that people give you, you know the “I feel sorry for you cause you can’t afford a house” look. I’ve had to put my trust {yet again} in God for this area. I’ve worked to make our apartments home and be grateful for the things we will miss, like 24 maintenace service, low utility bills, no yard care and all the other perks of renting. Yet, at the same time I can’t wait to work in my flower beds, to have space to move my furniture around sometimes and to personalize our space to “us”. Our patio and poor carpet have handled the abuse well. Our patio is forever stained with chalk and paint and our carpet has the proof that we have no backyard to eat messy snacks or drinks in. We’ve built memories that will last forever. I’m so proud of my husband, he has worked hard to support our family and not just stopped at what was required. Don’t get me wrong we aren’t perfect and we’ve been known to blow our budget from time to time but we always get back on track and try to keep the bigger picture in mind. We’ve loved naming our money, we know where it goes every month and there is no guilt in spending cash on a haircut or a new outfit if its in the cash envelope. We have no debt hanging over our heads. If we have a special purchase or splurge we want we have to save for it. We have avoided many purchases that way. It’s amazing how when you have to put the cash aside and you see it being put aside how much less you want that new toy! We feel like we are doing what God has asked of us. No guilt or pressure if this is not your siuation, just be encouraged. The steps are small. Lots of small steps all together will make huge strides.

I’ll keep you posted on our journey. I’d love to hear about your journey? How do you cut costs in everday expenses?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Why We’ve Chosen To Be Weird

  1. Sarah says:

    Good for you! Dave Ramsey ROCKS! We are weird also. : ).We still live in our first home. It was supposed to be the starter first home but when I started homeschooling and started participating in activities that equal a private school education on one income we choose to stay put. We do not have any debt other than the house and one car payment. I struggle at times living in this “keep up with the Joneses” world. But I always come back to what is more important..the big new house or staying home and raising my family as We are being called to do and the latter wins out every time! I still dream of more space in a “nicer” neighborhood and one day that dream will come true but not at the expense of my peace, my family or going into more debt!
    Blessings,
    Sarah

    • Hannah says:

      Thanks Sarah! We have also chosen for me to stay home with our kids and we plan to homeschool so I’m very grateful we have decided to start on that foundation now. Nothing is worth me missing the time with my kids!

  2. Leanna says:

    A great example to set for your kiddos. And, can’t wait to see your house! There’s nothing better than painting and repainting your walls after years of renting! =)

  3. Emily Kavalich says:

    I love how “weird” you are. I am so excited about this new adventure and I can’t wait to see where God ends up giving you a house, I only wish that it was going to be a little closer to us. I am totally impressed with how disciplined you guys have been with your money!

  4. Susan Linville says:

    You guys are awesome!! So much further along in wisdom than we were at y’alls age!, that’s for certain.
    Have you guys considered a hud.gov home? That is what our last three have been! 🙂

  5. Jenny James says:

    I think too many people are in homes they simply can’t afford. Seems most anybody can get a mortgage, but that doesn’t mean they can afford to be homeowners. You aren’t weird. You are wise. Excited for you!

  6. Randi says:

    Good for you! We’ve chosen to live debt free as well and I’m so thankful … Phil has been unemployed four times in our life together and it’s never completely rocked our world because we were never living beyond our means. I’m so excited that you guys are starting to look for a house … I can’t wait to see what you end up with and what you do with it!

  7. Yay!!! I was thrilled to receive you post in my inbox 🙂

    I so admire how you and your husband feel called to live right now. My husband and I PURPOSEFULLY lived below what God blessed us with in order to be fiscally sound. We are blessed to have 2 rental properties which are still mortgaged, but that’s it. Other than that, we are completely debt free. All, of course, to HIS glory!

    You stay the course, girlfriend! There’s HUGE dividends in the end!

    Have a blessed weekend…

Leave a Reply

