Nut Butter Muffins

A week ago our family started the Paleolithic diet. It’s not really a diet, more of a lifestyle change for us. Jeremy and I both have known that we don’t do well of grains and he doesn’t do well on dairy. We don’t drink milk so really the only dairy we have is cheese on occasion and eggs {which you can have on the paleo diet}. We have loved the results! We have both lost some weight and just feel less slugish in general. I’ve been at a loss for breakfast ideas. We both will eat eggs but he normally eats a meat with them and I’m not a huge meat-for-breakfast-kind of person. I made these yesterday and OH.MY.GOSH I felt like I was cheating and eating some yummy pastry. They are amazing anyway but I ate one fresh out of the oven while it was still warm….incredible! The original recipe came from a friend of a friend, but my friend Cindy blogged the recipe here. I took the original recipe and used a over-ripe banana instead of honey {since we aren’t eating any sweetners} and added about a 1/4 cup of dark chocolate chips. Those are a gray area on the paleo diet so we {more I} will eat an occasional dark chocolate piece in moderation. They would be good without the chocolate and my friend Cindy said she has added pumpkin puree too. That’s on my list to try next! I also want to try applesauce instead of a banana to sweeten it some and maybe raisins instead of chocolate chips…oh the possibilities are endless!!

Nut Butter Muffins {Grain Free}

1 cup of Nut Butter {I used Almond Butter..we buy it at Costco}

1/4 cup Honey {I used a over ripe banana}

2 Eggs

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1 tbsp of vinegar or lemon juice {I used lemon juice}

Chocolate Chips {optional…or anything your heart desires to add}

Combine nut butter, sweetner, eggs and baking soda. Mix well then add vinagar/lemon juice and chocolate chips if desired and mix well. Put into greased muffin tins. I used large muffin tins and mine only made 9 muffins. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes or when a insterted toothpick comes out clean. 

Grab a cup of coffee and make these for breakfast {or anytime for that matter} and enjoy! You won’t regret it…in fact you just might get hooked on them like I have!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nut Butter Muffins

  1. Katie Moore says:

    Hi,

    I just had a quick question in regards to your website. If you could email me at your convenience that would be great!

    Thanks,

    Katie

Leave a Reply

